Read the Bible

I don’t come from a faith tradition that’s known for its expertise on Scripture. And I had to read a few books of the Bible for a survey of literary history once. But generally, I don’t crack open the Good Book randomly. And I definitely don’t do what David Plotz did.

The Slate.com editor blogged the book over more than a year, reading it cover to cover. He learned a few things, and came out with a book.

Most interesting to me as an editor are the many turns of phrase that jumped out at him from its pages.

“You can’t get through a chapter of the Bible, even in the most obscure book, without encountering a phrase, a name, a character, or an idea that has come down to us 3,000 years later,” he writes.

Poring over Biblical writing didn’t get Plotz any closer to God. In fact, it made faith harder for him. But he has some very interesting reflections (watch Slate’s video for more).

http://www.slate.com/id/2212616/

Leave a comment